Fall into Passion Pit!

Formed in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 2007, Passion Pit was originally a one-man project consisting of Michael Angelakos, his laptop and a microphone.

The name Passion Pit came from an old slang term Angelakos heard in elementary school referring to a drive-in theater where kids go to make-out.  

After recording four tracks initially as a love-note to his then girlfriend, Angelakos passed the songs around Emerson College where it attracted much attention, giving birth to Passion Pit’s debut EP, Chunk of Change.

Soon Angelakos was approached by Ian Hultquist, who contributed keyboards and guitar to the band. The addition of Ayad Al Adhamy on the synthesizer, Jeff Apruzzese on the bass and Nate Donmoyer on the drums created Passion Pit’s eclectic and multi-layered sound.

The band released their album Manners in May of 2009 to both popular and critical acclaim. The album of indie-friendly electro-pop is both sincere and infectious, mixing a brightly toned sound with dance-floor friendly beats. Whimsical lyrics sung in Angelako’s high falsetto meld well with melodic synth loops to create songs that are brimming with emotion. Manners is extremely consistent and generates a euphoric and positive feeling the whole way through.

2009’s breakout artist, Passion Pit uses irresistible hooks and danceable electronic beats to create an album that is shameless in its pursuit of connecting emotionally to the listener. 



Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats

Delorean Delivers!

Delorean is an electronic, disco-punk group whose four members originate from Zarautz, in the Basque country of Spain.

Delorean started as a guitar-heavy post-punk band, but evolved into a beat centered synth-pop band with a touch of funk influence.

The group has put out four records, with each one increasing in its use of upbeat rhythm and digital production. This new diversity of sound has opened Delorean up to the dance floor scene.

AyrTon Senna EP is their latest release, which suprisingly features a strong world music influence as well as an impressive and well polished layering of sounds.

AyrTon Senna Ep Key Track : Deli



Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats

Take a pleasure cruise…

YACHT is an electronic, experimental indie pop group originally founded in Portland, Oregon by Jona Bechtolt. 

YACHT’s debut album See Mystery Lights offers up a plethora of interesting sounds as well as quirky lyrics and unusual song structure.

Original member Jona Bechtolt is a visual artist as well as a writer, adding elaborate powerpoint presentations to his live performances as well as being the founder of a popular blogging web community.

Claire Evans, a former science writer and media artist had worked with Bechtolt before the release of See Mystery Lights, but did not officially join the group until earlier this year.

Loops and synth beats are expertly combined with the vocal stylings of both Bechtolt and Evans to produce and album that is upbeat enough enough for the dance floor, while retaining many rock and pop elements.

Key Tracks Include: I’m in love with a ripper, It’s boring/you can live anywhere you want, Psychic City (Voodoo City)

YACHT is currently touring with the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and is known for their unique and dynamic live shows.


Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats


Discovery is a joint project between RaRaRiot’s Wes Miles and Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij

Their first album is simply titled LP.

Though both are members of extremely successful bands, the pair began experimenting in the recording studio in 2005.

LP is heavily influenced by electronic music, indie rock, R&B and funk, resulting in an extremely playful and upbeat sound.

The album features simple yet addictive keyboards as well as inventive and fun lyrics.

Key Tracks : Osaka Loop LineSo InsaneSwing Tree

Though the album has received mixed reviews, it has gained notoriety in the music community for its inventive sound.

Discover Discovery today!


Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats

Young Folks

Formed in 2005, the xx are a post-punk, indie band from London, England.

Though all four members are just over 20, their self-titled debut album exudes an incredibly mature sound.

With smooth, dreamy vocals and love of dark, emotive 80’s guitar, their first album has been well received by critics.

The xx features dual lead vocals of Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim (who also play lead guitar and bass guitar respectively), Baria Qureshi (keyboards and guitar) and Jamie Smith (beats, MPC sampler).



Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats

The coolest thing out of Norway since snow

Erlend Øye is a Norwegian musician from Bergen, best known as one half of the pop duo Kings of Convenience.

In 2003, while touring, Erlend Øye recorded his only solo album to date, Unrest.

Mesmerizing synth loops and premium beats, combined with Erlend’s smooth vocals make Unrest one of my favorite new discoveries.

Track highlights include: A sudden RushPrego Amore and Every Party.

Erlend Øye’s most recent project is  The Whitest Boy Alive. The band originally started as an electronic group, but slowly developed into a band with no programmed elements. Erlend sings and plays guitar. Their album Dreams is fun and melancholic at the same time, a great listen.


Øye Vey!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats

I like the way that you touch me…

The Aussie Posse




Sydney dancefloor princes Chris Stracey and Jack Glass have already built up a Bag Raiders hype storm. 

Im loving their remix of Sneaky Sound System’s track Tease Me


Check it out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Premium Beats